City of Norwich Fire Department

31 East Main Street
Norwich, NY 13815
Chief: Tracy Chawgo
Assistant Chief: Jan Papelino
Phone: (607) 334-1213

The City of Norwich Fire Department is a combination fire department. Under the command of Fire Chief/Paramedic Tracy L. Chawgo, 1st Assistant Chief Jan Papelino, 2nd Assistant Chief Patrick Ford, and 3rd Assistant Chief Brett Rice responding to approximately 3000 request for assistance a year. Career and volunteer Firefighters and Officers respond and train together to provide emergency and non-emergency services for the City and Town of Norwich, as well as surrounding communities under the county fire mutual aid agreement.

The City of Norwich career firefighters, IAFF Local 1404, are also crossed trained and certified in advanced level emergency medical care and are responsible for providing emergency medical services for the City and Town of Norwich, and the Towns of Preston, Plymouth, and North Norwich and surrounding areas under the county EMS mutual aid agreement.

The City of Norwich Fire Department operates three 1000 gallon class A engines, a 1800 gallon pumper/tanker, a 100ft Quint Aerial, a heavy rescue, four advanced life support ambulances and a command vehicle, a brush truck and a multipurpose vehicle.

Fire Department Staff

Chiefs Office
Fire Chief - Tracy Chawgo
1st Assistant Chief - Jan Papelino
2nd Assistant Chief - Patrick Ford
3rd Assistant Chief - Brett Rice

Volunteer Companies
Alert Hose Company - Line Officers
Captain: Cary McConnell
1st Lieutenant- James Brady
2nd Lieutenant- Evan Prindle

Maydole Hose Company - Line Officers
Captain- Chris Coombs
1st Lieutenant- A Jones
2nd Lieutenant- David Viele

Ontario Hose Company
Captain- James Fowlston
1st Lieutenant Tim Shepard
2nd Lieutenant James Fowlston Jr.

George Rider Hook & Ladder Co. - Line Officers
Captain- Kevin Ray
1st Lieutenant- Jeremy McKenna
2nd Lieutenant- Robert Boellman

Norwich Volunteer Firemans Association
President - James Fowlston
Vice President - Brenda Burlingame
Treasurer - James Wright
Secretary - Jim Williams
Fire Police - Line Officers
Captain Roger Fowlston
Lieutenant Tim Shepard
Lieutenant Deb Smith

First Responder Unit
Captain: A Jones

President: June Fowlston
Chaplain: Dennis McKenna

Old Photos (A look back in time)
Census 2010 information